Archives

My Short Story “Luscious” Will Be A Part of the Houston Writer’s Guild Mystery Anthology

I attended the Houston Writer’s Guild conference yesterday and was so excited my short story “Luscious” won first place in their mystery contest! Houston Writer’s Guild Press will be publishing this anthology in December, and I’ll keep you posted when it will be available for purchase.

“Luscious” is a little different from my cozy mystery novels.  I guess it’s a little less Mayberry and little more Twilight Zone.  “Luscious” is a story about a history professor and his wife who take down old wallpaper and find a luscious woman painted underneath . A woman who speaks to them.

HappyHomicides_Bonus_2015Pre-orders on Happy Homicides are stacking up in a wonderful way.  Remember, if you pre-order, you get a bonus pdf file of holiday recipes and crafts from the authors of the book.  I’ve included the recipe for the chocolate covered cherry cookies Grandma Gwen bakes in my story “The Deadliest Christmas Pageant Ever” featuring Betsy Livingston and the gang from Pecan Bayou, Texas.

Click Here to Pre-order for your bonus material.  

13 Holiday Mystery Novellas for 99 Cents!

Get Ready…Happy Homicides the Cozy Mystery Bundle is Coming!

I am so excited Happy Homicides is finally about to come out!

Thirteen Cozy Holiday Mysteries will be available for pre-order on Sept. 15 on most platforms for only 99 cents. Price includes a special bonus file with recipes and craft ideas. Authors include Joanna Campbell Slan, Neil Plakcy, Lois Winston, Annie Adams, Jenna Bennett, Nancy Warren, Sara Rosett, Camille Minichino, Nancy Jill Thames, Linda Gordon Hengerer, Joyce and Jim Lavene, and Teresa Trent. This collection of novellas and short stories is a whopping 213,000 words long! Release date will be Oct. 15, 2015.

Joanna Campbell Slan has worked very hard to put this all together, so thanks Joanna for the patience and inspiration that you shared with the rest of us.  I have to say it has been a pleasure spending my summer chatting with the other authors and learning from their expertise. So, here are some links for my anxious readers.

Happy Homicides Website

Our Facebook Page

Don’t forget you can pre-order this book starting on September 15 and the phenomenal price? Ho Ho Ho! 99 Cents!

Clarify Anthology Now in Paperback

My short story “Heartbeats” has been published in Clarify, an anthology published by Annapurna Magazine.  Even though the prose and poetry centers on the theme of food, my story stems from my own history of parenting a special needs child.

Clarify

This anthology is a collection of moments and memories–Verses rest on the page like tasty morsels of divine goodness that for a twinkling takes us beyond meager words subject to intellectual interference and directly immerse us in emotion; in being, in the quintessence of Humanity. From the whimsical to a dirge the editors have assembled a compilation that speaks to every person because everyone, in one form or another, knows food.

The tour starts tomorrow! If you haven’t entered my giveaway for a signed copy of Murder for a Rainy Day-here’s the link. Good luck!

 

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Murder for a Rainy Day by Teresa Trent

Murder for a Rainy Day

by Teresa Trent

Giveaway ends December 15, 2014.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter to win

Secrets in a Cigar Box- New Short Story at Wattpad

Secrets in a Cigar Box

Secrets in a Cigar Box

What if you opened an old cigar box and found a letter addressed to you?  What it this letter accused someone you loved of murder?

Secrets in a Cigar Box is  a new short story in my Mystery Road Colllection being offered for free at Wattpad.

Check out this short story at Wattpad!  Use the dropdown menu to find Secrets in a Cigar Box.

 

 

Also-There is a new post at The Happy Hinter:  Clean Your Mini-Blinds In Case You Want to Keep an Eye on the Neighbors 🙂
024

Both images found at MorgueFile.com

Two Short Stories For Free Download

I love to write Christmas stories and I know it isn’t Christmas.  (It isn’t even September when  Christmas stuff  starts showing up on the shelves!)  These stories are not mysteries as much as stories that encourage and inspire in the tradition of Faith Baldwin and Debbie Macomber.

Two of my stories are now up at Smashwords and can be downloaded for free.   The Smashwords links are listed above each book cover and eventually the stories will be available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Apple, Sony and Kobo.  You will find different formats for several ereaders on the Smashwords page.

Click Here for Smashwords Link for Secret Santa

Image

Enjoy this heartwarming short Christmas story of a Christmas store owner who finds herself in a Christmas gift exchange. How can the “Santa” ever surprise a person who for Christmas, it’s just business?

 

Click Here for Smashwords Link for The Christmas Find

Image

In this short story full of the Christmas spirit, a woman digging through a flea market table finds a treasure that reminds her of a Christmas long ago. Can the past be recaptured by looking into a snow globe?