An Uplifting Story for Caregivers

While I was on tour, I needed to talk about my books, but now that I’m off, I can talk about someone else’s book!

At the recommendation of a friend I read Adam: God’s Beloved by Henri Nouwen. This is a true story of a Catholic priest in Canada who is assigned to take care of a group of disabled adults.  Nouwen, who wrote more than 40 books and taught at Notre Dame, Yale and Harvard, becomes friends with a man who is totally dependent on others.  Being a caregiver myself, I found Henri and Adam’s story uplifting and encouraging.  His life with Adam becomes so simple and yet so meaningful.

I know I have readers who are also blessed with special children, so I wanted to share this treasure.  Reading the reviews of Adam: God’s Beloved his many other books are similar to this one, but it is so wonderful to find a positive message in the challenges we face every day.

One thought on “An Uplifting Story for Caregivers

Comments are appreciated!

